The public hearing of the candidates for first-ever post of EU Chief Prosecutor taking place today will be followed by a vote in the Civil Liberties Committee tomorrow.

The three shortlisted candidates are Jean-François Bohnert from France, Laura Codruţa Kövesi from Romania and Andres Ritter from Germany (in alphabetical order).

On Wednesday, the Civil Liberties Committee MEPs will vote by secret ballot to determine the ranking order of the candidates.

The European Chief Prosecutor will head the European Public Prosecutor’s Office (EPPO), which is expected to be operational at the end of 2020. The Chief Prosecutor will be jointly appointed by common accord of the European Parliament and the Council.