We are pleased to announce 4 candidates have entered the race to become the leading candidates (Spitzenkandidaten) for the European Green Party ahead of European elections in May 2019. They are Petra De Sutter, Senator, nominated by Groen, Belgium; Bas Eickhout, MEP, nominated by GroenLinks, the Netherlands; Ska Keller, MEP, nominated by Bündnis 90/Die Grünen, Germany; and Atanas Schmidt, nominated by Zelena Partija, Bulgaria.

“We applaud each candidate for throwing their hats into the ring ahead of these crucial European elections for the future of our union. They will now need to drum up support of at least 5 additional EU European Green Party member parties by 28 September to be able to proceed to the next phase,” said EGP co-chairs Monica Frassoni and Reinhard Bütikofer.

“European Green Party delegates across Europe will then elect the two leading candidates at our next Council between 23-25 November in Berlin in keeping with our tradition to field two leaders,” they added.