The leaders of Visegrád countries – Poland, Slovakia, Hungary and the Czech Republic – will meet in Budapest on Thursday ahead of the designation of candidates for top jobs in the EU.

All top EU institutions, the European Commission, the European Council, the European Parliament and the European Central Bank will have new presidents.

The four countries, which became EU members in 2004 are in permanent friction with the European Commission concerning a wide range of topics: from rampant corruption to attempts against the rule of law.

The ruling parties of the four countries belong to different European political families. However they maintain an informal alliance among them. Such an alliance doesn’t seem to be disturbed by deep differences between the Russophile politics of Hungary and the Czech Republic and anti-Russian Poland.

The ruling parties of the four express their desire to reinforce national state power and to block any farther EU integration process.

All Visegrád Four countries aim to propose a nationalist bloc which will resist any attempt to introduce EU values into their territories.

EU leaders will meet on June 20-21 to discuss on the top jobs.

Bertalan Havasi, the press chief of Hungary’s Prime Minister, told Reuters that it will be an informal meeting.