European Interest

MEPs in Senegal to discuss vaccine access and climate change

Institut Pasteur de Dakar
MEPs will also visit the Institut Pasteur de Dakar.

A delegation of seven MEPs will travel to Senegal from 15 to 17 May. The purpose of the visit is to assess the impact of EU development assistance in the country.

The seven-member delegation will be led by MEP Catherine Chabaud (Renew, FR), and will be in Senegal from 15 to 17 May. During their visit, the MEPs will focus on several issues. They will look at vaccine development and manufacturing in the country, including a visit to the Institut Pasteur de Dakar and discussions with EU representatives about the Team Europe initiative for the implementation of access to vaccines, medicines and health technologies in Africa.

MEPs will also undertake field trips to see the impact of EU support on the so-called Great Green Wall initiative to halt desertification in the region through land restoration and regenerative agriculture, and address the intertwined challenges of climate change, poverty regional security. They will also talk with representatives of coastal communities involved in climate adaptation efforts and the development of sustainable fisheries, as well as meeting with local representatives to discuss equal opportunities and women’s empowerment.

While in Senegal, MEPs will meet with representatives from Senegal’s ministry of economy, planning and cooperation, parliamentarians, and representatives of civil society groups involved in education and training, women’s empowerment, and the fight to end violence against women and children.

Speaking before the delegation’s departure for Senegal, lead MEP Catherine Chabaud said: “2023 marks an important step in our privileged partnership, as the global geopolitical context becomes more complex and elections are approaching in Senegal. There is an urgent need to strengthen our ties and move forward together towards the implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals.”

The delegation is composed of the following members: Catherine CHABAUD (Renew, FR), Karsten LUCKE (S&D, DE), Michèle RIVASI (Greens/EFA, FR), Ryszard CZARNECKI (ECR, PO), Ádám KÓSA (NI, HU), Carlos ZORRINHO (S&D, PT), Maria-Manuel LEITÃO-MARQUES, Women’s Rights and Gender Equality Committee, (S&D, PT).

Explore more