In a clear and united vote of support for Manfred Weber, the Members of the EPP Group have re-elected him as Chairman to lead the EPP Group in the upcoming negotiations to find a stable majority in the European Parliament. With 179 Members, the EPP Group is the biggest political group in the European Parliament.

Manfred Weber is also the EPP lead candidate for President of the European Commission.

“It is a great honour to be elected Chairman again by my colleagues in this crucial moment after the elections. It is now time to deliver on our promises, to show people that we can change Europe. We want to strengthen our social market economies, tackle the migration question and the control of our external borders once and for all, protect citizens from terrorism and organised crime and protect the planet against climate change and the destruction of biodiversity. To achieve this, we are ready to work together with the other political groups for a stable and ambitious partnership for change in the years to come. Because above all, citizens told us at the elections that they want us to deliver a better Europe,” Weber said.

After the election of the Chairman, 10 Vice-Chairpersons were elected to finalise the formation of the EPP Group Presidency:

Dubravka Šuica (HDZ, Croatia), Esteban González Pons (PP, Spain), Ewa Kopacz (PO, Poland), Siegfried Mureșan (PNL, Romania), Mairead McGuinness (FG, Ireland), Esther de Lange (CDA, Netherlands), Arnaud Danjean (LR, France), Andrey Kovatchev (GERB, Bulgaria), Evangelos Meimarakis (ND, Greece) and Paulo Rangel (PSD, Portugal).