An EP delegation participated remotely to the Gender Equality Forum held in Paris from Wednesday to Friday.

On that occasion, Evelyn Regner (S&D, AT), Chair of the Committee on Women’s Rights and Gender Equality and Chair of the EP delegation, declared: “Amidst a global pandemic and political push back which threatens to set back women’s rights and the progress made over the past years, I welcome the Generation Equality Forum’s renewed impetus to accelerate gender equality over the next five years, with concrete measures and funding announced.” “With $40 billion+ in new investments benefitting women and girls, legislative action including from the EU (such as combatting violence against women) and a new generation of young, inspirational leaders, the European Parliament has been proud to contribute to the Generation Equality Forum, and will do its part to make certain that the implementation matches the promises made.”

The Gender Equality Forum is a global gathering for gender equality convened by UN Women and co-hosted by the governments of Mexico and France, in partnership with youth and civil society. The Forum kicked off in Mexico City in March and culminated in Paris from 30 June to 2 July, launching a series of concrete, ambitious and transformative actions to achieve immediate and irreversible progress towards gender equality. This global event, the first of its kind since the Beijing World Conference on Women 26 years ago, featured 100 discussion panels, more than 700 speakers and delegates from 150 countries.                 In Paris, political leaders, corporate executives and activists unveiled a total of $40 billion to advance gender equality. The funding will go toward instituting hundreds of new gender-focused policy proposals on issues including gender-based violence, economic empowerment and access to reproductive health services.

The members of the EP virtual delegation to the Generation Equality Forum were:

Evelyn Regner (S&D, AT), delegation Chair; Frances Fitzgerald (EPP, IE); Rosa Estaràs Ferragut (EPP, ES); Heléne Fritzon (S&D, SE); Maria Manuel Leitão Marques (S&D, PT); Chrysoula Zacharopoulou (Renew Europe, FR); Jadwiga Wiśniewska (ECR, PL);