CoE: Liechtenstein takes over the Presidency of the Committee of Ministers

Council of Europe

Liechtensteinhas taken over the rotating Presidency of the Council of Europe’s Committee of Ministers from Latvia at a meeting with representatives of the organisation’s 46 member states.

The Parliamentary Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Latvia, Reinis Brusbārdis, gave an overview of his country’s achievements.

The new Chairperson of the Committee of Ministers, Dominique Hasler, Minister for Foreign Affairs, Education and Sport of Liechtenstein, presented the priorities of her country’s Presidency which will run for six months, until 17 May 2024.

Liechtenstein will use its Presidency to promote and strengthen human rights, democracy and the rule of law in Europe. Particular emphasis will be placed on promoting a forward-looking and inclusive outlook for the Council of Europe.

In addition, the Principality of Liechtenstein has issued a national postage stamp to mark its Presidency. The stamp is for use in the country and for collectors: Philatelie Liechtenstein.

Explore more